Book Review: The Bouncer

The BouncerThe Bouncer by David Gordon
My rating: 1 of 5 stars

I had very high hopes for this book–it seemed like it was going to be a genre-bending, crime-thriller, with a wise-cracking bouncer as the charasmatic anti-hero.

While it *was* those things, there were so many different plot lines that the author was trying to keep afloat, they all seemed very shallow and lacking in depth. The same goes for the characters, I had a difficult time connecting with or even caring about any of them due to the flatness of their descriptions. Additionally, the writing style was very short and choppy–and while this can be used as an excellent stylistic element to add drama to the story, reading an entire book like this was difficult.

Disclaimer: I received this book from Netgalley.com in exchange for my honest and unbiased review.

View all my reviews

Leave a comment